An Abbey for the sick & The Crutched Friars

The Abbey of St Mary d’Urso is located in Drogheda in county Louth. This national monument is Drogheda’s oldest monastic site and is known as ‘The old abbey’ or ‘The Hospital of St. Mary d’Urso’ however it’s official name is ‘The Abbey of St. Mary d’Urso’. It was founded in 1206 by the Norman, Ursus de Swemele as a hospital for the sick and infirm. In 1349 it was given a ‘Royal Grant of Privileges’ and was later taken over by the Augustinian Crutched Friars. All that remains of the Abbey is the central belfry tower, a Gothic archway, an east archway, and a gable wall to the west.