The Royal Hospital is regarded as the finest 17th century building in Ireland. It was built in 1684 by Sir William Robinson as a home for retired soldiers and continued in that use for over 250 years. Its design is based on ‘Les Invalides’ in Paris and has a formal baroque facade, a large courtyard and stunning formal gardens over look Phoenix Park. Following the creation of the Irish Free State in 1921 it was considered as a potential home for the new Irish Parliament however it was decided to keep the parliament in its city centre location in Leinster House. After its use as a hospital the Garda Síochána used it as a storage location for property belonging to the National Museum of Ireland. This included a large statue of Queen Victoria and the spectacular state coach of the Lord Chancellor of Ireland. The Hospital was finally restored by the Irish Government in 1984 (its 300th anniversary) and controversially opened as The Irish Museum of Modern Art (IMMA).