Large Alternate

Large Alternate2019-06-21T10:25:43+00:00
107, 2018

Boyle Abbey, Boyle. County Roscommon  1161-1592

By |July 1st, 2018|Categories: County Roscommon, County Roscommon, Heritage Sites, Holy Orders 1100-1500, Military Structures 1600 >, The Province of Connacht|Tags: , , |0 Comments

An excellent example of an early Irish Cistercian Monastery Boyle Abbey was the first Cistercian monastery founded in the province of Connacht and is now a national monument. It was established in 1161 [...]

106, 2018

Creevykeel Court Tomb, Creevykeel. County Sligo c.2500-4000BC

By |June 1st, 2018|Categories: County Sligo, Heritage Sites, Monuments & Curiosities, Neolithic 4000 b.c - 2500 b.c, Super Significant, The Province of Connacht|Tags: , , |0 Comments

One of the finest and largest court tombs in Ireland This national monument is in a chain of five megalithic buildings along this ancient route in county Sligo. It dates from the Neolithic [...]