One of only a few double-decker road bridges in Europe

Craigavon Bridge is the oldest of the three bridges in Derry City. It was built in 1933 and named after Lord Craigavon (the first Prime Minister of Northern Ireland). This is the third bridge to be built at this location over the mighty Foyle River. The first one was built in 1790 with wood and was called ‘The Earl Hervey Bridge’. The second was built in 1863 with steel and was called the Carlisle Bridge. This, however, was destroyed by an iceberg. This one was built in 1933. The lower deck of the bridge originally carried freight trains to and from Donegal. This one was however renovated for cars in 1968 and so it is one of only a few double-decker road bridges in Europe. There are now silhouetted murals of trains at each end to mark this history. There is also a famous bronze statue called ‘Hands Across the Divide’ by Derry sculptor Maurice Harron at the Carlisle Square side of the bridge.