Nenagh Castle is located in Nenagh in co.Tipperary. It was built c.1216 and was the main castle of the Butler family for 200 years before they moved to Gowran in co.Kilkenny. The family later splashed out on Kilkenny Castle which was to the main seat of their power for over 500 years. It has has a turbulent history and was captured by Owen Roe O’Neill in 1641, recaptured by Lord Inchiquin, surrendered to Ireton in 1651 during the Cromwellian period and burned again by Sarsfield in 1688 during the Williamite Wars. The circular keep is over 90 feet high and is one of the finest of its kind in Ireland. The crown of mock crenelations and the clerestory windows were added in 1861 at the instigation of Bishop Michael Flannery. The intention was that the keep would become the Bell tower of a Pugin designed Cathedral which was never built. Though not true to historic character these additions have ensured the iconic status of the keep which ensures that it features on the logos of many local clubs and businesses including Nenagh Town Council.