Radisson Blu St Helen’s Hotel can be found in Stillorgan in south county Dublin. This was once one of Ireland’s most magnificent private houses. It was built in 1750 as a home for the Dublin barrister Thomas Cooley who was also a member of parliament. It was originally named ‘Seamount House’ and is set in extensive stunning formal gardens believed to have been designed by the famous gardener Nivian Nivien. It was renamed ‘St Helens’ by Lord Gough when he bought it in 1851. In 1925 the Christian Brothers bought the house and used it as their headquarters and in 1927 the large ballroom was converted for use as a chapel! The lands and the house have come under increased pressure for rezoning to the point that it may have been completely knocked down for more housing and roadways however in 1994 it has been listed as a National Monument.