Loftus Hall is located on Hook Head in County Wexford. This was originally the site of a castle built by a family called Redmonds in 1350. It later ‘fell into the hands’ of the Loftus family in the 1650s as a result of the Cromwellian confiscations. One of their descendants, the 4th Marquess of Ely, built this house with the finest materials in 1872. Over the following years, there were reports of strange happenings. One infamous story happened on a stormy winter’s night as the family relaxed before a roaring log fire. A stranger arrived on horseback who knocked on the door and was invited to stay for the night. After refreshments, he participated in a game of cards and when one fell on the floor, Lady Anne bent down to retrieve it. She was shocked to discover that the stranger had a cloven foot and when she screamed in terror, the stranger vanished through the ceiling in a puff of smoke!! (scared yet?) Lady Anne then fainted but when she awoke, she was apparently mentally ill. This was an embarrassment for the family and so she was locked away in her out of sight until she died. More ghost stories followed including that presumed to be of Anne Tottenham who frequently ‘appeared’ in the Tapestry Room. An exorcism was even carried out on the house by Father Broaders who’s own epitaph reads..‘ here lies the body of Thomas Broaders, who did good and prayed for all and banished the Devil from Loftus Hall.‘ Loftus Hall was reopened again on Friday 13th of July 2012 and the public can now do ‘The Loftus Hall Tour’…if they dare! A new movie is also being made about the house which will be the first Irish film to be released in 3D.