The Bishop’s Palace in Waterford City was built in 1741 to the designs of the famous architect Richard Cassells (Cassells other works include Westport House, Powercourt House and Russborough House). This was the site of an earlier medieval palace and became the home of the Church of Ireland Bishops of Waterford and Lismore until the early 20th century. It then became a boys school and subsequently council offices. Waterford City boasts the finest collection of 18th century architecture of any city in Ireland outside of Dublin. The building is now a museum to house the ‘treasures of the Waterford City’ from the 18th Century to the present day, and visitors can see World’s oldest piece of Waterford Crystal – a decanter made in the 1780’s.